GitHub · GH-300
Validates your ability to use GitHub Copilot to optimize software development workflows, craft prompts, implement responsible AI practices, and configure privacy and security settings.
Practice Questions
352
≈ 4 practice exams
Duration
100 minutes
Passing Score
Not publicly disclosed
Difficulty
IntermediateLast Updated
Sep 2026
GitHub's official GH-300 study guide, updated August 7, 2026, weights the exam across six domains, and one dominates: Use GitHub Copilot Features at 25-30%, covering everything from triggering suggestions and Copilot Chat in the IDE to Agent Mode, Copilot Edits, Model Context Protocol integrations, Agent Sessions, Sub-Agents, Spaces, Spark, and organization-wide policy management through the REST API. Use GitHub Copilot Responsibly follows at 15-20%, then four domains tie at 10-15% each: data and architecture, prompt engineering and context crafting, developer productivity, and privacy and content exclusions. This 352-question bank is built to match that split, so the features domain, the one most candidates underestimate because it now spans nearly a dozen distinct tools, gets proportionally the deepest coverage. What sets GH-300 apart from a typical vendor certification is that it tests judgment about an AI tool's output rather than memorized syntax: expect scenario questions asking whether a Copilot suggestion should be trusted, how to validate it, and which feature (Chat, Agent Mode, or CLI) fits a given workflow. With Copilot now used by roughly 90% of the Fortune 100 and adopted by close to 29% of developers worldwide, GH-300 is one of the first vendor credentials built specifically to validate that a developer or team lead can use an AI pair programmer responsibly, not just competently.
On test day you get 100 minutes, delivered through Pearson VUE either online or at a physical test center, and Microsoft strongly recommends registering with a personal Microsoft Account rather than a work or school account, since leaving that organization can make an Azure AD-linked exam record permanently unrecoverable. Microsoft does not publish an official question count for GH-300; third-party training providers who track the exam commonly report roughly 65 scored questions plus a handful of unscored pretest items mixed in without being flagged, alongside interactive item types beyond standard multiple choice. A scaled score of 700 or greater is required to pass, per Microsoft's official exam-scoring policy, though Microsoft does not disclose the underlying scale. If you don't pass, you can retake after 24 hours; later retakes follow Microsoft's standard escalating wait policy. The exam runs in English, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazil), Korean, and Japanese. Before test day, run through the free official exam sandbox at GHCertDemo.starttest.com to see the real interface and interactive question types, and take the linked Microsoft Learn practice assessment (assessment ID 218035372) to check your readiness against the current, August 2026 objectives, since older third-party material written before that update may not cover the newer Agent Sessions, Sub-Agents, Spaces, and Spark content now in scope.
GH-300 has no formal prerequisites, but Microsoft's audience profile expects familiarity with GitHub fundamentals and hands-on experience with at least one programming language plus real Copilot usage, so this is not an exam you can pass from documentation alone. Exam pricing is set by Microsoft based on the country or region where you sit the test rather than one flat global rate; third-party trackers commonly cite a standard fee near $99 USD, so confirm your local price when you schedule through Pearson VUE. The credential is valid for two years, and GitHub is in the process of moving GH-300 onto Microsoft's standard free-online-assessment renewal model, with expiring certifications getting a six-month extension during the transition. In GitHub's five-exam Microsoft Learn track, GH-300 is the only credential focused on AI-assisted development: GH-900 (Foundations) covers Git and GitHub basics for any user, GH-100 (Administration) targets enterprise GitHub admins, GH-200 (Actions) validates CI/CD automation, and GH-500 (Advanced Security) covers secret scanning and code security, none of which touch Copilot. A 2025 Pearson-backed study found 79% of certified professionals report higher-quality output and 70% report improved productivity after certifying. Start with the 30 free questions, then work the full 352-question bank until your accuracy holds steady across all six domains, especially the two heaviest: Copilot Features and Responsible AI.
The GitHub Copilot certification (GH-300) is an intermediate-level, vendor-backed credential from GitHub, delivered through Microsoft Learn and proctored by Pearson VUE, that validates a developer's ability to use GitHub Copilot to improve software development productivity, quality, and security. The current skills-measured version took effect August 7, 2026 and covers six domains: using Copilot responsibly, using Copilot's IDE, CLI, Agent Mode, and MCP features (the largest domain by weight), understanding Copilot's data handling and architecture, applying prompt engineering, improving developer productivity, and configuring privacy and content exclusions. It sits at the Intermediate level and targets four Microsoft Learn roles: App Maker, Developer, DevOps Engineer, and Technology Manager.
GH-300 is one of five certifications in GitHub's Microsoft Learn certification track, alongside GH-900 (Foundations), GH-100 (Administration), GH-200 (Actions), and GH-500 (Advanced Security), and it is the only one focused specifically on AI-assisted coding rather than core GitHub platform mechanics. The certification is valid for two years; GitHub is currently transitioning renewal onto Microsoft's standard free online recertification assessment, and certifications expiring during that transition receive an automatic six-month extension. The exam is delivered in English, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazil), Korean, and Japanese.
GH-300 targets software developers, DevOps engineers, app makers, and technology managers who already use or plan to roll out GitHub Copilot inside a professional development workflow. Microsoft's official audience profile expects candidates to be comfortable with GitHub fundamentals (repositories, pull requests, branching) and to have working experience with at least one programming language, since the exam assumes a working developer baseline rather than teaching one.
It suits engineers who already use Copilot day to day and want to formalize that fluency, team leads evaluating or standardizing Copilot rollout across an engineering organization, and platform or security admins who configure org-wide Copilot policies, content exclusions, and audit logging. It is not designed for complete beginners to GitHub or to programming; those candidates are better served starting with GH-900 (GitHub Foundations) before attempting GH-300.
There are no formal prerequisites to register for GH-300: no required prior certification, degree, or verified work history. Microsoft's audience profile is a recommendation rather than a gate, describing candidates who already have familiarity with GitHub fundamentals, experience with at least one programming language, and hands-on time using GitHub Copilot across an IDE.
Recommended preparation includes the two official Microsoft Learn paths, GitHub Copilot Fundamentals Part 1 and Part 2, plus the one-day instructor-led course GH-300T00-A. Because the skills-measured list changed on August 7, 2026, expanding the features domain with explicit Agent Mode, Agent Sessions, Sub-Agents, Spaces, and Spark content, candidates should confirm any third-party study material or practice test was updated after that date before relying on it.
The exam runs 100 minutes and is delivered as a proctored assessment through Pearson VUE, either online or at a physical test center. Microsoft does not publicly disclose the exact number of questions; third-party training providers that track the exam commonly report approximately 65 scored questions plus additional unscored pretest items mixed in without being identified, using multiple-choice, multiple-response, and other interactive item types.
A scaled score of 700 or greater is required to pass, per Microsoft's official exam-scoring policy; Microsoft does not publish the underlying question count that maps to that score. Candidates who fail can retake after 24 hours, with longer waits for subsequent retakes under Microsoft's standard retake policy. An official exam sandbox at GHCertDemo.starttest.com and a linked Microsoft Learn practice assessment (assessment ID 218035372) are both available to preview the real interface before test day.
GH-300 signals that a developer or technical lead can use GitHub Copilot responsibly and effectively rather than simply having access to it. That distinction matters at scale: GitHub reports Copilot is now used by roughly 90% of the Fortune 100, and independent trackers put total Copilot users at around 20 million with more than 4.7 million paid subscribers as of early 2026. According to a 2025 Pearson-backed study of certified professionals, 79% report producing higher-quality work, 70% report improved productivity, and 32% report a salary increase after earning the certification.
Unlike infrastructure-focused cloud certifications from AWS or Azure, GH-300 is one of the few vendor certifications that specifically validates AI-pair-programming proficiency, making it complementary to, not a replacement for, existing developer or DevOps credentials. It is most valuable for engineers formalizing Copilot fluency, team leads driving Copilot adoption across an engineering organization, and platform admins who own org-wide Copilot policy, content-exclusion, and audit-log configuration.
5 sample questions with answers and explanations. The full bank has 352 questions, enough for 4 full-length practice exams.
Preview — answers shown1. A developer is new to using GitHub Copilot Chat and feels overwhelmed by all the features. They want to see a quick reference of the most common commands and what they do. Which slash command should they use to get this information?
Explanation
The /help command is a built-in utility in Copilot Chat designed to assist users. Typing /help provides a concise overview of how Copilot can assist and, most importantly, displays a list of the available slash commands and a brief description of what each one does. It is the perfect starting point for anyone unfamiliar with the chat interface.
2. While working in VS Code, a developer wants to use the integrated GitHub Copilot Chat panel to create documentation for a specific function they have highlighted in their editor. To perform this task as efficiently as possible, which slash command should they use in the chat input?
Explanation
Slash commands in Copilot Chat provide quick shortcuts for common tasks. The /doc command is specifically designed to generate documentation for the selected code block. Using this command is more efficient than typing out a full sentence like 'Please create documentation for the selected code'. The other commands serve different purposes: /fix is for proposing a fix for problems in the selected code, /simplify is for making it easier to read, and /run is not a standard slash command for this purpose.
3. A developer is debugging a block of Python code that is causing a 'TypeError'. They are unsure of the exact cause. They highlight the problematic code within their IDE and open the Copilot Chat panel. Which slash command is the most direct and appropriate one to use to get a potential fix?
Explanation
The /fix slash command is the designated shortcut for asking Copilot to analyze a piece of selected code and propose a solution for any apparent bugs or errors. While /explain would describe what the code does, it would not necessarily correct it. /tests would generate unit tests, and /new would be for creating something from scratch. For correcting a known error, /fix is the most efficient command.
4. TechStartup Ltd wants to enable GitHub Copilot Enterprise for only their senior developers initially, rather than all 200 developers in the organization. After establishing the enterprise policy, what should the organization admin select in the user permissions section?
Explanation
Selected teams/users is the correct option for TechStartup Ltd's requirements. This setting allows the organization admin to selectively enable GitHub Copilot Enterprise for specific individuals or teams rather than the entire organization. After selecting this option, they would need to specifically assign the senior developers to receive access. Allow for all members would give access to all 200 developers, which is not what they want initially. Disabled would prevent anyone from using Copilot Enterprise, and Enterprise admins only is not a standard GitHub Copilot permission option.
5. WebDesign Pro is building a portfolio website and wants to use GitHub Copilot to add CSS animations. They write a comment prompt in their styles.css file. When Copilot provides a suggestion, they want to see multiple alternative suggestions before choosing one. What keyboard shortcut should they use?
Explanation
Ctrl + Enter is the correct keyboard shortcut to view multiple suggestion alternatives from GitHub Copilot. This shortcut opens a panel showing different options that Copilot has generated, allowing developers to choose the most suitable suggestion for their needs. The Tab key accepts the current suggestion immediately without showing alternatives. Ctrl + Tab is typically used for switching between open files or tabs in most editors, and Alt + Enter is not a standard Copilot shortcut for viewing multiple suggestions.
Microsoft does not publish an official count. Third-party training providers who track the exam report roughly 65 scored questions plus additional unscored pretest items, delivered across 100 minutes with some interactive item types beyond standard multiple choice.
A scaled score of 700 or greater, per Microsoft's official exam-scoring policy. Microsoft does not publish the underlying question-to-score conversion or the total point scale.
Microsoft prices the exam by the country or region where you're proctored rather than a single flat global fee. Third-party trackers commonly cite a standard rate near $99 USD; confirm the exact price when you schedule through Pearson VUE.
Six domains per the August 7, 2026 study guide: Use GitHub Copilot Features (25-30%, the largest), Use GitHub Copilot Responsibly (15-20%), then Understand Data and Architecture, Apply Prompt Engineering and Context Crafting, Improve Developer Productivity, and Configure Privacy and Content Exclusions, each at 10-15%.
No formal prerequisites. Microsoft's audience profile expects candidates to already know GitHub fundamentals, have experience with at least one programming language, and have hands-on time using GitHub Copilot before attempting the exam.
GH-300 is the only GitHub Microsoft Learn exam focused on Copilot and AI-assisted development. GH-900 (Foundations) covers general Git and GitHub basics, GH-100 (Administration) targets enterprise admins, GH-200 (Actions) covers CI/CD, and GH-500 (Advanced Security) covers code and secret security, none of which overlap with Copilot content.
$17.99
One-time access to this exam